Mississippi Collection Agency
AAB is a Mississippi commercial collection agency that specializes in commercial debt collection. AAB collects MS commercial debt and here are some facts to consider when you are selecting a Mississippi collection agency.
AAB covers all of Mississippi or MS and our collection agency handles commercial Louisiana debtors in Gulfport, Hattiesburg, Jackson and other cities in Mississippi.
Commercial loans in Mississippi, in excess of $5,000, are not subject to any usury limitation. Should a commercial loan turn out to be a veil for a personal loan, is considered a sham in Mississippi.
Below there are summary points on Mississippi regulations and Laws that affect a Mississippi collection agency. These points should be considered when contemplating listing commercial debt for collection with a Mississippi commercial collection agency.
Mississippi Collection Laws
NOTE: The Mississippi commercial collection guidelines below are summary in nature and subject to change. While we make every effort to insure accuracy, the information below should not be considered legal advice or to be one hundred percent accurate. No warranty is expressed or implied and AAB assumes no liability for its use.
Mississippi Collection Interest Rates
Mississippi Legal Rate: 8%
Contract Rate: 10% or 5% per annum above the discount rate on 90 day commercial paper in effect, in the Federal Reserve district where the lender is located. Any rate allowed if principal balance exceed $2,000 in Mississippi.
Corporate Rate: 15% or 5% per annum above the discount rate on 90 day commercial paper in effect, in the Federal Reserve district where the lender is located
Judgment: Same rate as the contract OR Rate set by the judge hearing the complaint
Usury % Cap: See Contract Rate. On Commercial loans below $5,000, the usury caps of personal loans are applicable in Mississippi.
A Mississippi commercial collection agency can only charge interest at the rates above.
Mississippi Statute of Limitations
Mississippi Contracts (Oral): 3 Years
Written Contract: 3 Years
Judgment: 7 Years
Bad or NSF Check collection charges in Mississippi
Mississippi requires creditors to notify the debtor in writing. Maximum $40 service charge OR 5% of the face amount of the check.
Mississippi Collection Agency Laws
Mississippi State Licensing: None
Mississippi State Bond: Not Required
Information above on commercial collections and the Mississippi collection agency laws is provided to help potential clients looking for a commercial collection agency in Mississippi. We encourage potential clients to request a free quote on the commercial solutions offered by our Mississippi Commercial Collection Agency.